Genée International Ballet Competition 2013: the medal winners announced

This year’s GenĂ©e competition, held in Glasgow, attracted 58 candidates from 14 countries but only five medals were awarded yesterday, and none of them gold.

Silver medallists were Isabelle Brouwers, 17, from English National Ballet School (German) and Sasha Leong, 15, from Sydney Ballet School (Australian).

The Bronze medallists were Natasha Watson, 17, from Ballet West (British), Rory Ferguson, 17, from Tanya Pearson Classical Coaching Academy (Australian) and John Rhys Halliwell, 18, from English National Ballet School (British).

The Audience Award, voted for by audience members on the night, went to John Rhys Halliwell.

The judges were the president of the Royal Academy of Dance, Darcey Bussell, the director of the Royal Ballet, Kevin O’Hare, and artistic director of Scottish Ballet, Christopher Hampson.

One Comment