The Australian Dance Awards’ panel honours three women whose lives were dedicated to dance

The Australian Dance Awards’ advisory panel has inducted Marilyn Jones and Elizabeth Cameron Dalman into the Hall of Fame for 2015.

As well, the panel has nominated Marilyn Rowe for this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

The women will be formally presented with their awards at the ADA gala in Adelaide next month.

The two Marilyns played pivotal roles in the formation of the Australian Ballet, with Jones being a foundation member of the company and its artistic director from 1979-1982.

Rowe joined the company in 1965, rose to the rank of principal and succeeded Marilyn Jones at the artistic helm of the company, with the title of ‘ballet director’ prior to the appointment of Maina Gielgud as artistic director.

This is an important year for Dalman as it marks the 50th anniversary of her founding the Australian Dance Theatre in Adelaide.

It’s interesting that women have been such an important part of Australian dance history in the 20th century, and not just these three women but also Kira Bousloff, Gertrud Bodenwieser, Helene Kirsova, Peggy van Praagh, Dame Margaret Scott and Carol Johnson.

Since the beginning of the ADA awards, 19 people have been awarded the honour of Lifetime Achievement and of these, 13 have been women including Janet Vernon who shared the award with her husband, Graeme Murphy, in 2006.

One Comment