New year news from the Australian Ballet

Tim Harbour has become the new resident choreographer at the Australian Ballet.

A former senior artist with the company he has been freelancing as a choreographer and teacher since his retirement as a dancer.

The good news is that he will be mentoring young choreographers for this year’s Australian Ballet Bodytorque season and will also create a new work for the season that will take place in Melbourne this year.

His last piece for the Australian Ballet was Sweedeedee in 2012.

The company has also announced the promotion of Ako Kondo from the rank of soloist to senior artist.

Kondo drew high praise recently for her performance in Paquita.

Joining the company are seven new dancers including five from the Australian Ballet School.

They are Drew Hedditch, Corey Herbert, Emma McFarlane, Marcus Morelli and Simon Plant (all from the school), Amanda McGuigan, an Australian who is moving from the Dutch National Ballet and Kelsey Stokes, a New Zealander who won the McDonald scholarship in 2012.

The dancers leaving the company are Halaina Hills, Noah Gumbert, Tim Harford, Jack Hersee and Jake Mangakahia.

Three corps de ballet dancers have been promoted to coryphée – Benedicte Bemet, Jessica Fyfe and Ingrid Gow.